Variation on a theme

An interesting variation on the theme here from New Zealand that uses a Subaru engine and 4wd gearbox with the front drive removed and the centre diff locked.

patrickv.jpg

patrick.gif

About Iain

I am married with two children and we all live in rural Queensland. My interests include politics, ethics, art, religion, architecture, engineering and science. I am largely self-educated but I hold an Arts degree from the University of Queensland.
This entry was posted in clubman focused, Locost Builders, other peoples cars. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Variation on a theme

  1. Kyle says:

    Iain, I know it was a long time ago, but would you have some more information on where you got these EJ20 powered Locost pics? I’m actually building one myself, would love to get some more info.

    • Iain Hall says:

      That car is in New Zealand Kyle and the pictures came from a locost forum, If you are interested I have a Subaru liberty for sale (cheap) that has an EJ22 in it now this car has a small issue with a leaky head gasket but an EJ22 has to be a better engine than an EJ20, unless you have a turbo on that engine.;)

  2. Kyle says:

    EJ205T has always been the plan, I just accidentally left out the “5T” part in my initial post! 😀
    Looks like the engine in that pic is an older EA81 or similar, the EJ series are quite a bit bigger in all dimensions, so it’s probably not worth tracking it down.

    • Iain Hall says:

      From what I remember about the car here what he did was to take a 4WD gearbox and weld up the centre diff so that it would send all of the drive to the rear wheels. You could probably do it though if you re did the engine bay bracing so that the cam box covers could stick out the sides of the engine bay just a little. Or better still go for a rear engine configuration with a FWD gearbox behind the rear axle.

      • Kyle says:

        I’ve actually taken the McSorley chassis a step further, increasing chassis width by 150mm from the original book design. Several reasons for this including, I’m a large person (Read Tall and Fat) and the Engine is 830mm wide head to head. I intend on adding a stack more triangulation, cross bracing and gussets to negate the effect on torsional strength, and we’ve already got a friends centre diff in pieces ready to weld up.

        I’ll drop you a link when I’ve got more pics/info if you’re interested?

      • Iain Hall says:

        Yes Kyle I’m always interested in sharing the builders journey with anyone who does the hard yards 😉

Leave a comment